CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Triple Quadrupole ICP-MS and ICP-OES Fingerprinting of Up to 57 Trace and Minor Elements in Crude Oil Using a Single Sample Preparation Method
Tuesday October 20th 2015
First Session: USA 9:00 am EDT, 6:00 am PDT, 13:00 BST, 14:00 CEST
Repeat Session: USA 11:00 am EDT, 8:00 am PDT, 15:00 BST, 16:00 CEST
SPEAKER
Speaker
Dr. John F. Casey, Ph. D,
Professor of Geology and Director of The ICP (Inductively Coupled Plasma) Research Laboratory,
Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences,
University of Houston
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Jeff Huber,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

The presence of trace and minor elements in crude oil provides a means for understanding the geological history of oil formation, including oil-oil and oil-source rock correlation, maturation of organic matters and aspects of the depositional environment of source rocks. Some of these elements are also important in the refining process, as they can act as catalyst poisons, cause fouling or promote corrosion. Certain elements are also hazardous to the environment when oil spills occur or petroleum products enter into drainage systems. For these reasons, the precise measurement and mapping of elemental concentrations in crude oil is of immense significance to exploration, refining and environmental sciences. In this webinar, we will show how, through the application of both Triple Quadrupole -ICP-MS, ICP-OES analytical techniques and a single microwave digestion sample preparation technique, it is now possible to detect up to 57 elements in crude oils.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- The significance of trace element analysis of crude oil

- Sample preparation techniques to extend to trace levels on the Triple Quadrupole ICP-MS

- Application of Triple Quadrupole ICP-MS for trace and ultratrace analysis of crude oil

- Elemental profiles of crude oil from various regions

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Geologists
  •  
  • • Petroleum Geochemists
  •  
  • • Petroleum R&D Researchers
  •  
  • • Petroleum Refining Chemists
  •  
  • • Oil Exploration Support Scientists
  •  
  • • Atomic Spectroscopists
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo