How the New Toxic Substances Control Act Will Impact the Conduct of Science

November 16, 2016

7:00 a.m. PST / 10:00 a.m. EST / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

This presentation will discuss the myriad of ways in which the June 2016 amendments to the Toxic Substances Control Act will affect how companies conduct science that may be submitted to EPA under TSCA. It will provide an overview of the key changes to TSCA, then address in detail several aspects of those changes that affect how companies meet their obligations and embrace their opportunities under the new TSCA.

Among the issues are the obligations on EPA to meet new standards of good science; the opportunities those obligations create for companies potentially affected by EPA decisions; the expected increase in testing requirements imposed on manufacturers; the incentives for companies to conduct testing even if not required by EPA; the development of alternatives to animal testing; and the importance of analytical chemistry to TSCA compliance and protection of confidential chemical identities.

Brought to you by:

 

Participants Will Learn:

 

• How the recent amendments to the Toxic Substances Control Act have increased EPA's ability to require testing by manufacturers

• The incentives in the new TSCA for stakeholders to invest in new testing of chemicals likely to be reviewed by EPA

• The importance of developing monitoring data and other evidence of real-world exposures

• EPA's new obligations to rely on good science and the opportunities these create for stakeholders

• The push for development of alternatives to testing of vertebrate animals

• How analytical chemistry can affect the protection of confidential business information and assist with regulatory compliance

Who Should Attend:

 

• Researchers/ R&D Mangagers

• Laboratory Managers/ Directors / Supervisors

• Laboratory Technicians / Operators

• Executives (C-level, VP)

 

Speakers

 
Mark Duvall
Principal,
Beveridge & Diamond
Dr Michael Doyle, Ph. D.,
Senior Director of Corporate Development,
BIOVIA
 

Moderator

 
Linda Wang,
Senior Editor,
C&EN
 

Register Now