Next Generation Human Genetics
 
 
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds

Next Generation Human Genetics

 

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

USA 1:00 p.m. EDT / 12:00 p.m. CDT / 10:00 a.m. PDT / 17:00 GMT

 

Speaker


Jay Shendure, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Genome Sciences
University of Washington


Introduction


Rudy Baum
Editor-In-Chief
C&EN
 


Moderator


Celia Henry Arnaud
Senior Editor
C&EN
 


To receive information on future webinars covering important topics in the life sciences, please email cenwebinars@acs.org.

Overview


Massively parallel DNA sequencing platforms have become widely available, reducing the cost of DNA sequencing and democratizing the field between major genome centers, and the individual investigator. These new technologies are rapidly evolving, and have the potential to dramatically accelerate biological and biomedical research.

In this webinar, participants will learn about:


• The basics of next-generation DNA sequencing technologies, and how it enables the comprehensive analysis of genomes, transcriptomes, and interactomes

• How this rapidly evolving technology is becoming inexpensive, routine and widespread

• Detailed ongoing work by the Shendure group and collaborators in which these technologies are applied to efficiently identify the genetic basis for single gene or "Mendelian" disorders that have proven intractable to conventional modes of analysis.

About the Speaker


Jay Shendure, M.D., Ph.D., became an Associate Professor in the Department of Genome Sciences at the University of Washington in Seattle, Washington, in 2007. He graduated summa cum laude from Princeton University in 1996, and completed a Fulbright scholarship to India in 1997. He entered the Medical Scientist Training Program at Harvard Medical School, receiving his Ph.D. in 2005 and his M.D. in 2007. His Ph.D. with George Church notably included one of the first successful demonstrations of massively parallel or next generation DNA sequencing.

The Life Science Series


This is the first production of C&EN Webinar's new Life Science Series. As C&EN readers know, the interface between chemistry and biology is one of the most dynamic and important areas of modern science, and one that C&EN covers regularly in its reporting. Through this webinar series, we hope to expand our coverage of the life sciences, by enlightening and engaging our audience in topics of cutting edge technology and research in areas such as Next Generation Sequencing, PCR, and the study of Biomarkers.

Register FREE at http://cenm.ag/genetics