Synthesis Analysis of Millions of Genomes Nanostructures for Novel Therapies and Materials
 
 
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds

Synthesis & Analysis of Millions of Genomes & Nanostructures for Novel Therapies and Materials

 

Thursday, July 12, 2012

11:00 am EDT / 10:00 a.m. CDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT / 3:00 p.m. GMT

 

Speaker


George Church, Ph. D.
Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School, Director of the Center for Computational Genetics


Moderator


Stuart A. Borman
Senior Correspondent,
C&EN
 


To receive information on future webinars covering important topics in the life sciences, please email cenwebinars@acs.org.

About the Speaker


George Church, Ph.D., is a Professors of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, and the Director of the Center for Computational Genetics. Professor Church's 1984 Harvard PhD studies consisted of the first direct genomic sequencing, molecular multiplexing and barcode tags. These lead to automation and software used for the first commercial genome sequence (of the pathogen Helicobacter) in 1994. He has since founded PersonalGenomes.org, which provides the world's only open-access information source for human genomic, environmental and trait data (GET). He is director of the NIH CCV Center for Excellence in Genomic Science and is a member of NAS and NAE, and a Hoogendijk Prize awardee and Franklin Laureate for Achievement in Science.

The Life Science Series


This is the second production of C&EN Webinar's new Life Science Series. As C&EN readers know, the interface between chemistry and biology is one of the most dynamic and important areas of modern science, and one that C&EN covers regularly in its reporting. Through this webinar series, we hope to expand our coverage of the life sciences, by enlightening and engaging our audience in topics of cutting edge technology and research in areas such as Next Generation Sequencing, PCR, and the study of Biomarkers. Contact cenwebinars@acs.org for more information about this and other upcoming C&EN webinars.

Register FREE at http://tinyurl.com/73syp59