Combining Chromatography With Smart Synthesis for Cost-Effective Production of Chiral Chemicals
 
 
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds

Combining Chromatography With Smart Synthesis
or Cost-Effective Production of Chiral Chemicals

 

Thursday, June 28, 2012

USA 11:00 a.m. EDT / 10:00 a.m. CDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT / 15:00 UTC

 

Who should attend?


• Process Development Chemists and Chemical Engineers

• Researchers/ R&D Managers

• Technicians/ Managers/ Directors / Supervisors in labs, pilot plants and production plants

• Sourcing Managers

Speakers


Dr. Jin Seok Hur, Ph.D.
R&D and Pilot Lab Manager
Novasep



Dr. Jean-François Marcoux, Ph.D.
Technical Business Development Manager
Novasep


Moderator


Linda Wang
Senior Editor
C&EN
 


Chiral chromatography is widely used to make the first few grams of enantiomers, when the compound is needed pure and quickly, without considering future manufacturing. When large scale production is considered, chemists typically look for alternate routes such as diastereoselective crystallizations or asymmetric synthesis, despite the outstanding potential of chiral chromatography in some cases.

Dr. Jin Seok Hur, Ph.D., will introduce current chromatography techniques (HPLC, SFC, SMB Chromatography), their main characteristics, and their area of application. He will address preconceived ideas on large scale chromatography and expose scale-up and process development strategies.

Dr. Jean-Francois Marcoux, Ph.D., will present several real life industrial examples where the combination of multi-step synthesis and chiral chromatography will be compared to alternative routes in terms of speed, cost-effectiveness and environmental impact.

Participants Will Learn:


• The basics of chromatography technologies available at production scale (HPLC, SFC, Continuous SMB chromatography)

• The development, scale-up and implementation of chromatography at large scale

• Through case studies the combination of smart synthesis and chiral chromatography is a powerful solution for:
- Rapid development and scale-up

- Cost-effective and sustainable production at large scale

Hosted by:

Sponsored by:

Register FREE at http://tinyurl.com/d5vwst4