Determination of Inorganic Ions in Municipal Drinking Water and Wastewater by High Pressure Capillary IC
 
 
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds

C&EN Webinar Series - Benefits of Using Capillary Ion Chromatography
Determination of Inorganic Ions in Municipal Drinking Water and Wastewater by High Pressure Capillary IC

 

Thursday April 11, 2013

USA 11:00 a.m. EST / 10:00 a.m. CST / 8:00 a.m. PST / 16:00 BST

 

Who should attend?


• Ion chromatographers interested in utilizing high-pressure systems

• Municipal and environmental analysts interested in learning about ion chromatography and capillary IC

Speaker


Arthur W. Fitchett, PhD
Director, Operations
Compliance and Field Marketing, Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry Division
Thermo Fisher Scientific


Moderator


Elizabeth K. Wilson
Senior Editor
C&EN
 



Register for the other parts of this series, and view more webinars sponsored by Thermo Scientific by clicking here.

Overview:


Although U.S. regulations are cited, the EU and other industrial nations have stringent regulatory requirements for drinking water content. U.S. municipal drinking water and wastewater treatment plants must comply with EPA 300.0 and EPA 300.1 for drinking water requirements. These plants are also known to carry discharge permits by the National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). Both cationic and anionic determinations help monitor the primary contaminant specifications. This also includes toxic disinfection byproducts and secondary specifications for the acceptable taste of the water. In municipal wastewater, anion and cation determinations ensure that no environmental effects occur as a result of discharging high-salt concentrations into the water system. This webinar demonstrates the advantages of using high pressure capillary IC with the high resolution 4 μm particle size anion-exchange column to specifically determine inorganic anions.

Subject Areas Covered in Presentation:


• Learn about the benefits of high-pressure separations at capillary flow rates for IC

• Learn about the benefits of 4 μm particle-size capillary IC columns

• Learn about the applications for environmental analyses

Hosted by:

Sponsored by:

Register FREE at http://tinyurl.com/ao8sgf6