Evaluating Extractable & Leachable Profiles of 3D Printed Medical Devices Using High-Resolution Mass Spectrometry

February 15, 2017

11:00 a.m. EST / 8:00 a.m. PST / 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

The use of 3D printed medical devices is a growing field, due to product customizability, short lead times, and ability to create devices not possible with traditional manufacturing techniques. Despite this trend, there has been little study of the chemical constituents of 3D printed medical devices. Since 3D printing processes often involve the application of heat and contact with printer components, the extractable and leachable profiles of final products may be altered in comparison to the profiles of the original materials.

To gain a better understanding of the chemical profiles of 3D printed materials, four different 3D printed materials were extracted and analyzed for organic, metal, and particulate matter impurities. High resolution mass spectrometry data generated from a Waters Xevo G2-XS QTof provided the most useful platform for identifying unknown analytes. Results indicate that 3D printing design has a measurable effect on the extractable/leachable profiles of devices, and that material selection and treatment are important considerations in the production of 3D printed medical products.

Brought to you by:

 

Participants Will Learn:

 

• Gain a better understanding of the chemical profiles of 3D printed materials

• How high resolution mass spectrometry provides the most useful platform for identifying unknown analytes

• Why material selection and treatment are important considerations in the production of 3D printed medical products

Who Should Attend:

 

• MS practitioners

• R&D and QC Managers

• Laboratory Managers/ Directors

• Laboratory Technicians / Operators

• Researchers from Academia, Industry, and Contract Research Organizations

 

Speaker

 
Joel Rindelaub, Ph.D.,
Principal Chemist,
Pace Analytical Life Sciences
 

Moderator

 
Manny I. Fox Morone,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
 

Register Now