MIDA Boronate Building Blocks: Towards a general platform for small molecule synthesis | C&EN Webinars | Chemical & Engineering News
 
 
MIDA Boronate Building Blocks:
Towards a general platform for small molecule
synthesis

Live Webinar: June 16, 2010
2:00 p.m. GMT • 3:00 p.m. CET • 4:00 p.m. EET

Register Now
Overview:In an idealized form of the building block approach for small molecule synthesis, off-the-shelf subunits having all of the required functional groups preinstalled in the correct oxidation states and with the desired stereochemical relationships are brought together via the recursive application of one stereospecific reaction. Analogous to peptide coupling, this strategy aims to maximize the simplicity, efficiency, and flexibility with which small molecules can be made in the laboratory. MIDA boronates represent a powerful platform of building blocks with the potential to broadly enable this type of synthesis.

The webinar will discuss the many physical and chemical features of MIDA boronates that underlie their widespread utility, including:
  • Ease of preparation, purification, and storage and minimized environmental impact
  • Reversibly attenuated boronic acid reactivity that enables small molecule synthesis via iterative cross-coupling
  • Capacity for slow-release cross-coupling that transforms even notoriously unstable 2-heterocyclic, vinyl, and cyclopropyl subunits into air-stable and highly effective cross-coupling partners
  • Compatibility with a wide range of common reaction conditions which enables the multistep synthesis of structurally complex boronic acids from simple B-containing starting materials

Your host for this webinar will be:


Sponsored byHosted by

Aldrich ChemistryC&EN Webinars
Register Now