Small, but bright: µSEC-MALS adds light scattering to UHP-SEC for biophysical characterization of biotherapeutics

November 10, 2016

11:00 am EST, 8:00 am PST, 16:00 GMT, 17:00 CET

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

This presentation will discuss the myriad of ways in which the June 2016 amendments to the Toxic Substances Control Act will affect how companies conduct science that may be submitted to EPA under TSCA. It will provide an overview of the key changes to TSCA, then address in detail several aspects of those changes that affect how companies meet their obligations and embrace their opportunities under the new TSCA.

The novel cmPALS technology and the new Omega Cuvette enable faster and more sensitive Zeta Potential measurements that facilitate ease of use and improve sample stability. Additionally, the transmittance, or amount of light traveling through the sample, is constantly monitored to provide additional information about the sample turbidity and stability. Finally, improvements have been made to the particle size distribution algorithms to enable the resolution of bi- and tri-model particle mixtures.

A number of specific application examples will be described including analyzing mixed particle suspensions, liposomes for drug delivery, particles for ceramics and particles within the food and beverage industry.

Brought to you by:

 

Key Learning Objectives:

 

• Optimizing UHP-SEC separations

• How the addition of MALS to UHP-SEC sheds new light on proteins and other macromolecules

• Case studies with the µSEC-MALS for protein therapeutics, bridging HP-SEC to UHP-SEC

• Using light scattering to aid SEC method characterization

Who Should Attend:

 

• Scientists, and lab technicians currently working with, or planning on transitioning to, UHP-SEC

• Lab managers looking for advanced characterization capabilities for proteins other macromolecular biotherapeutics.

 

Speakers

 
Stephan Koza, Ph. D.,
Principal Applications Chemist,
Waters Corporation
Michelle Chen, Ph. D.,
Director of Analytical Services,
Wyatt Technology Corp.
Mark Haverick, Ph.D.,
Sr. Scientist, Sterile Product and Analytical Development,
Merck & Co., Inc.
 

Moderator

 
Alexandra Taylor,
Contributing Editor
C&EN
 

Register Now