De Clercq And Fauci Win Janssen Award | April 18, 2011 Issue - Vol. 89 Issue 16 | Chemical & Engineering News
Volume 89 Issue 16 | p. 47 | Awards
Issue Date: April 18, 2011

De Clercq And Fauci Win Janssen Award

Department: ACS News
Keywords: Awards

Erik De Clercq, a professor emeritus at the Rega Institute for Medical Research, in Leuven, Belgium, and Anthony S. Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases at the National Institutes of Health, in Bethesda, Md., have been named the recipients of the 2010 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research. They were selected for their pioneering work in understanding and combating viral diseases, particularly HIV/AIDS.

The award, which carries a $100,000 shared prize, was created by Johnson & Johnson to salute the most passionate and creative scientists in basic or clinical research whose scientific achievements have made, or have strong potential to make, a measurable impact on human health.

Fauci declined his portion of the prize to comply with government ethics rules. Johnson & Johnson will donate his portion of the prize money to two nonprofit organizations: Partners In Health; and Us Helping Us, People Into Living.

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © American Chemical Society

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment