Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.

If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



COMP Presents 2011 Division Awards

by Linda Wang
March 19, 2012 | APPEARED IN VOLUME 90, ISSUE 12

The ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry (COMP) presented several awards during the society’s fall 2011 national meeting in Denver. The HP Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, cosponsored by Hewlett-Packard, recognizes the early success and academic potential of computational chemists who are on the tenure track but have not yet received tenure. The winners were Christine Aikens, Kansas State University; Elizabeth Amin, University of Minnesota; Jianhan Chen, Kansas State University; and Alberto Striolo, University of Oklahoma. Each received $1,000.

The CCG Excellence Award, cosponsored by Montreal-based software company Chemical Computing Group (CCG), recognizes outstanding research by a graduate student in computational chemistry. The recipients were John Faver, University of Florida; Maria Frushicheva, University of Southern California; Wenkel Liang, University of Washington; Falgun Shah, University of Mississippi;and Miranda Shang, State University of New York, Stony Brook. The winners each received $1,150 and a copy of CCG’s MOE (Molecular Operating Environment) software with a one-year license.

The recipient of the ACS Peter Kollman Graduate Award in High-Performance Computing, cosponsored by the National Center for Computational Sciences, is Robert Elder, University of Colorado.

More information on COMP’s awards can be found on its website at


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment