NAS elects new members | Chemical & Engineering News
Latest News
Web Date: May 4, 2016

NAS elects new members

National Academy of Sciences adds 15 chemical professionals to its membership ranks
Department: ACS News
Keywords: awards, national academy of sciences

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) elected 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in May. This brings the total active membership to 2,291 and the number of foreign associates—nonvoting members with citizenship outside the U.S.—to 465.

Election to NAS, which is more than 150 years old, recognizes scientists and engineers for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research and is considered one of the highest scientific honors bestowed in the U.S. This year, 15 of the newly elected are members of the American Chemical Society or work in areas related to the chemical sciences.

The new U.S. members are Bonnie Bartel, Rice University; Roberto Car, Princeton University; Arup Chakraborty, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Hongjie Dai, Stanford University; Joseph DeRisi, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and University of California, San Francisco; John Eiler, California Institute of Technology; Richard Friesner, Columbia University; Marsha I. Lester, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Susan Marqusee, California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences and UC Berkeley; Hidde Ploegh, MIT; Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; Michael Summers, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; and Peidong Yang, UC Berkeley.

The two new foreign associate members are Daan Frenkel, University of Cambridge (citizenship, the Netherlands), and Ian A. Wilson, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Calif. (citizenship, U.K.).

Photo of Bonnie Bartel
Bonnie Bartel
Credit: Tommy Lavergne/Rice University
Photo of Roberto Car
Roberto Car
Credit: Courtesy of Roberto Car
Photo of Arup Chakraborty
Arup Chakraborty
Credit: MIT
Photo of Hongjie Dai
Hongjie Dai
Credit: Courtesy of Hongjie Dai
Photo of Joseph DeRisi
Joseph DeRisi
Credit: Cindy Chew
Photo of John Eiler
John Eiler
Credit: Courtesy of John Eiler
Photo of Marsha I. Lester
Marsha I. Lester
Credit: Courtesy of Marsha I. Lester
Photo of Susan Marqusee
Susan Marqusee
Credit: Mark Joseph
Photo of Melanie Sanford
Melanie Sanford
Credit: MacArthur Foundation
Photo of Michael Summers
Michael Summers
Credit: Tim Ford
Photo of Peidong Yang
Peidong Yang
Credit: MacArthur Foundation
Photo of Daan Frenkel
Daan Frenkel
Credit: Courtesy of Daan Frenkel
Photo of Ian A. Wilson
Ian A. Wilson
Credit: Scripps Research Institute
Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © American Chemical Society

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment