Aziridine Aldehydes as Reagents for Rapid and
Chemoselective Synthesis of Complex Molecules

Monday, March 28, 2011
Live webinar onsite at the ACS National Meeting in Anaheim, CA
USA: 2:00pm EDT • 1:00pm CDT • 11:00am PDT
Europe: 20:00 CET • 19:00 BST

Register Now

Overview: By taking advantage of orthogonally reactive functional groups, amphoteric molecules deliver more efficient syntheses and enable novel chemical transformations. The amphoteric aziridine aldehyde reagents recently developed in our lab have become useful tools in reductive amination, aza-Michael reactions, amino allene and alkynyl amine synthesis, peptidomimetic ligation, as well as one-step access to complex alkaloid frameworks.

Of particular significance is the facility with which amphoteric reagents stitch together complex macrocyclic peptides and other ring structures out of linear precursors. A wide range of macrocyclic structures can be made in a one-step process mediated by amphoteric aziridine aldehydes. Control elements such as fluorescent tags, solubilizing groups, and conformation-tuning substituents are amenable to incorporation into cyclic peptide frameworks at a late stage of synthesis. This webinar will showcase our recent advances in this field.

Areas covered in the webinar:
  • Discovery of unprotected aziridine aldehydes
  • Selected properties of aziridine aldehydes
  • Application of aziridine aldehydes in stereocontrolled construction of heterocycles
  • Application of aziridine aldehydes in linear peptidomimetic ligation
  • Application of aziridine aldehydes in macrocyclization reactions
  • Recommended procedures, pitfalls, and troubleshooting

Who should attend?
  • Organic chemists
  • Medicinal chemists
  • Peptide chemists
  • Bioorganic chemists
  • Anyone involved in research in academic or corporate labs

Main Speaker:
Dr. Andrei K. YudinDr. Andrei K. Yudin
Davenport Research Laboratories
Chemistry Department
University of Toronto




Moderator:
Maureen RouhiMaureen Rouhi
Deputy Editor-in-Chief
C&EN



Sponsored byHosted by

Sigma-AldrichC&EN Webinars
Register Now