CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Water Purification in the Modern Laboratory:
The Basics and Practical Aspects
Thursday December 17th 2013
8:00a.m. PST / 11:00a.m. EST / 16:00 BST / 17:00 CEDT
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Maricar Tarun-Dube,
Ph. D,
Freelance Science Writer and Speaker
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Emily Bones,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Purified water plays a critical role in the success of a laboratory because of its wide-ranging uses, from the mundane washing of glasswares to more critical applications such LC-MS, IC and PCR, to name a few. A good understanding of the contaminants in water, and the processes involved in removing them to produce pure and ultrapure water is necessary to make sure that the quality of the laboratory water is best suited for its intended purpose(s). This knowledge is also helpful in preventing future problems with water purification systems and the associated downtime and cost.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES

- Different water contaminants and how these affect specific laboratory experiments

- Different water types or grades set by different organizations, as well as those set by manufacturers of laboratory water purification systems

- Key parameters used for different types/grades of water, and the expected values for each

- The technologies used in laboratory water purification, including their benefits and disadvantages

- The most efficient way of purifying water so that it is suitable for laboratory use, and meet the requirements of specific experiments

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Laboratory Managers/ Directors / Supervisors
  •  
  • • Researchers/Scientists who require ultrapure and/ or pure water in their work
  •  
  • • Laboratory Technicians/Operators who use purified water
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo