Thermometric Titration: Protect Your Refinery with Improved Corrosion Monitoring
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Thermometric Titration: Protect Your Refinery with Improved Corrosion Monitoring
Wednesday July 29th 2015
USA 1:00pm EDT, 10:00 am PDT, 18:00 BST
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Bert Thakkar,
Senior Research Technologist
Imperial Oil,
Sarnia
 
Speaker
Lori Carey,
Applications Specialist
Metrohm USA
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Ann Thayer,
Senior Correspondent,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Sulfur species and naphthenic acids are the main contributors to efficiency-decreasing corrosion in the refining process. The most commonly utilized method for corrosive naphthenic acids in crude oil is ASTM D664. However, this method often leads to wide variations in results between laboratories primarily because the scope of this method does not include crude oil samples.

Thermometric titration provides faster, more reliable Total Acid Number data, a critical step in making accurate refinery process decisions. A wrong value for this parameter causes refineries to waste millions of dollars on treatment chemicals and risk a shutdown due to corrosion in plant pipelines. Attend our webinar and learn how this new titration method can be extended to applications beyond corrosion monitoring to protect your refinery.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- Understand the impact of corrosion and importance of monitoring to protect you refinery.

- Learn how the catalytic thermometric titration improves crude oil and refinery fraction measurements.

- See how this new titration method can be extended to applications beyond corrosion monitoring.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Petroleum refinery QC/QA, R&D Scientists and Lab Managers
  •  
  • • People involved in crude oil commerce decisions and refinery efficiency improvements
  •  
  • • Anyone interested in the latest developments in titration applications for the refinery industry
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo