Advertisement

If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.

ENJOY UNLIMITED ACCES TO C&EN
 

_____ Brought to you by Metrohm USA _____

Titration Automation: Why Ditching the Glass Buret Improves Detection of Corrosion Contributors

REGISTER NOW

 

  October 8, 2019

  1:00 p.m. EDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT, 18:00 BST, 19:00 CEST

 

Overview

 

Despite being inaccurate and subjective, many labs that monitor corrosion contributors, like acidity and metal ions, are filled with traditional glass burets due to their low cost and the uncertainty that surrounds transferring these methods to an autotitrator. In reality, the titration methods used for these measurements are easily moved to autotitration where labs benefit from higher accuracy, repeatability and throughput.

Attend this educational webinar to hear Dr. Jan Hamier, former Chemistry professor at McGill University, provide method development guidelines for converting manual titrations to simple autotitrator methods using an optical electrode. Kerri-Ann Blake, Product Specialist for Titration at Metrohm USA, will then discuss the impact continued use of manual titration has on corrosion monitoring and the latest technology that reduces the demand for technical skill in the lab.

Accurate corrosion monitoring is critical to maintaining plant infrastructure, so avoid putting your operations at risk and move to cost-effective autotitration for these important measurements.

Brought to you by:

 

Key Learning Objectives

  • Receive tips for method development and optimization of petrochemical titrations
  • Hear answers to applications questions asked by others in the petrochemical industry
  • Learn how Metrohm provides complete solutions to laboratory issues

Who Should Attend

  • Lab Manager with labs performing corrosion monitoring
  • Those involved in process improvement to avoid corrosion
  • Anyone interested in implementing best practices for corrosion monitoring
 

Speakers

Dr. Kerri-Ann Blake
Product Specialist
Metrohm USA
Dr. Jan Hamier
Consultant
 

Moderator

Stu Borman
Contributing Editor,
C&EN Media Group
 

REGISTER NOW