Implementation of Near Infrared Spectroscopy for Rapid Iodine Value and Hydroxyl Number Analysis
Untitled Document

Implementation of Near Infrared Spectroscopy for Rapid Iodine Value and Hydroxyl Number Analysis

December 12, 2017

11:00 a.m. PST / 2:00 p.m. EST / 19:00 GMT / 20:00 CET

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

Polyethers have a wide range of uses, notably as precursors for polyurethane production, but also directly as polyethylene glycol, commonly used in cosmetics and pharmaceuticals. Two key parameters for assessing the quality of the polyether are the hydroxyl number (OH) and iodine value (IV). Measurement of these parameters is typically accomplished through potentiometric titration, which often requires extensive sample preparation and consumes large amounts of hazardous solvents, such as pyridine. Near infrared (NIR) spectroscopy can complement these methods, making them faster, safer and more reliable.

In this webinar, Stephanie A. Hobaugh, Quality Services Manager at Evonik will discuss how the Hopewell, VA site has implemented NIR spectroscopy to reduce the laboratory workload, realize cost savings and increase the rate of feedback between the lab and production line. Metrohm application scientists will explain the fundamentals of NIR technology and instrumentation, and explore best practices for linking NIR data to titration and other analytical methods.

Brought to you by:

 

Key Learning Objectives

 

• How to implement NIR spectroscopy to improve laboratory throughput and decrease waste

• Basics of potentiometric titrations and techniques for accurate IV and OH analysis

• Understand the general capabilities of NIR spectroscopy and how to connect it with primary methods

• The benefits of rapid feedback between lab and production

Who Should Attend:

 

• Process engineers

• Plant managers

• Quality control managers

• Employees of water plants

 

Speakers

 
Stephanie A. Hobaugh,
Manager of Quality Services,
Evonik Corporation
Adam J. Hopkins, Ph.D.,
Product Manager, Spectroscopy,
Metrohm USA
 
 

Register Now