CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Simultaneous Thermal Analysis (STA) Basics and Application Possibilities
Thursday October 29th 2015
USA 11:00 am EDT, 8:00 am PDT, 15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET
SPEAKER
Speaker
Dr. Jan Hanss,
Master in Chemistry, University Hamburg (Germany),
Dr. rer. nat. bioinorganic Chemistry (Germany)
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Matt Davenport,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Simultaneous thermal analysis combines two thermoanalytical methods in a single instrument and provides the results from applying both methods to the same sample within one measurement. The webinar explains the two basic methods of Thermogravimetry (TGA) and Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC) and describes how they can be integrated into a single measuring device. Following a brief explanation of the design and functional operation of the STA apparatus, the benefits of simultaneous measurement as compared with using each method individually will be shown by a virtue of examples.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- What are TGA and DSC useful for?

- What are the benefits of combining TGA and DSC within the same unit called STA?

- Which information are delivered by STA technology?

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • MS practitioners
  •  
  • • Researchers/ R&D Mangagers
  •  
  • • Laboratory Managers/ Directors / Supervisors
  •  
  • • Laboratory Technicians / Operators
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo