Using Infrared and Near-Infrared Spectroscopy to Detect Potential Threats to Safety and Quality of Food
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Using Infrared and Near-Infrared Spectroscopy to Detect Potential Threats to Safety and Quality of Food
February 10th 2015
USA 10:00 am EST, 7:00 am PST, 15:00 GMT
SPEAKER
Speaker
Ben Perston, Ph.D,
Scientist
PerkinElmer
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Jeff Huber,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Infrared (IR) and Near-Infrared (NIR) Spectroscopy has become an established technique for verifying the quality of food ingredients. Recent cases of economic adulteration of food products and ingredients have highlighted the potential benefits of rapid screening tests that are able to verify identity, determine quantitative quality/nutritional parameters, and detect economic adulterants in both a "targeted" and "non-targeted" manner. This webinar discusses several techniques for screening food ingredients by IR and NIR spectroscopy, and outlines a new approach to economic adulterant screening that overcomes common problems encountered with method development and implementation.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- Verify authenticity of food products and ingredients

- Detect adulterants in raw ingredients prior to manufacturing

- Take advantages of having the flexibility of targeted and non-targeted screening

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Lab and Technical Managers of food manufacturing, looking for a solution when testing the authenticity, quality and safety of food, and screening for adulterated ingredients.
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo