CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Analysis of Phosphate and Manganese Degradation Products in Aged Lithium-Ion Batteries
Tuesday March 18th 2014
USA 11:00am EDT, 8:00 am PDT, 15:00 GMT
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Paul Voelker
Vertical Marketing Manager,
Environmental & Industrial Markets
Thermo Fisher Scientific
 
Speaker
Rosanne Slingsby
Senior Principal Scientist
Thermo Fisher Scientific
 
Speaker
Kate Comstock
Marketing Specialist, Pharma
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Register Now
OVERVIEW
MODERATOR
Speaker
Matt Davenport,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Spacer

Rechargeable, manganese-based, lithium-ion batteries (LiBs) are environmentally friendly, have a good safety record, and can be made at a lower cost than other metal-based LiBs. However, they have a shorter lifetime. Much research has been spent on improving product safety, cycle life, and product performance, yet understanding fundamental processes and degradation mechanism in LiBs remains a challenge. Identifying breakdown products and understanding degradation processes can lead to enhancing battery performance, improvements in product safety, and insight into component failure mechanisms.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES

- How to choose the appropriate analytical instrument to analyze and identify ionic manganese (and other transition metal) complexes.

- Chromatography column selection for optimizing the resolution of anionic and cationic complexes.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Researchers and producers of Li-ion batteries involved in the areas of R&D, formulation, and compositional analysis.
  •  
  • • Researchers and producers interested in improving the performance and longevity of lithium ion batteries
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo