CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Analysis of Targeted and Non-Targeted
Contaminants in Storm Water Retention Ponds

Part 1 of 3
Thursday July 18th 2013
8:00 a.m. PDT, 9:00 a.m. CDT, 11:00 a.m. EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEDT
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Jonathan Beck, PhD
Environmental and Food Safety Vertical Market Manager
 
Speaker
Gordon Getzinger
Graduate Studentr
The Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University
Spacer
MODERATOR
Speaker
Craig Bettenhausen
Assistant Editorr
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

This webinar will outline the workflow used to identify and quantitate emerging compounds in waste water treated water used for golf course irrigation at Kiawah Island, SC. Targeted LC- HRMS methods were developed for ~30 organic micropollutants including known compounds including, pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides. Furthermore, a LC-HRMS/MS non-targeted screening workflow, utilizing an accurate mass MS/MS spectral library of common environmental contaminants was used to screen for the occurrence of additional components. The identified compounds were quantified using an online sample preparation system coupled to a triple quadrupole instrument.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES

- Use of HRAM to identify targeted and non targeted emerging contaminants

- Use of EQuan MAX Plus Online SPE for sample treatment and preconcentration

- Use of the TSQ Quantiva LC-MS to quantitate the ID'd compounds

WEBINARS IN THIS SERIES

July 18th, 11:00am EDT
Part 1: Analysis of Targeted and Non-Targeted Contaminants in Storm Water Retention Ponds

September 3rd, 11:00am EDT
Part 2: The Analysis of Fullerenes by Liquid Chromatography Mass Spectrometry

November 14, 11:00am EST
Part 3: Nontargeted Screening for Emerging Contaminants in Water and Wastewater Using Offline SPE and High Resolution Accurate Mass on the LTQ-Orbitrap Velos

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Environmental chemists interested in wastewater or storm water irrigation

  • • Chemists interested in saving time through online SPE

  • • Chemists interested in learning about software workflow strategies for the identification and quantitation of emerging environmental contaminants
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo