Untitled Document

Untargeted Metabolomics of Colorectal Cancer Using a Novel Orbitrap GC-MS Metabolomics Library

October 19, 2017

USA 8:00am PDT, 11:00am EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST

Register Now

 
 

Overview

 

Colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of cancer-related deaths in women and the third in men. Diagnosis is still largely based on invasive tissue sampling, while gaps remain in the understanding of its pathogenesis. Untargeted metabolomics is one way to address these issues by looking at variations between pathological and healthy phenotypes and identifying the responsible metabolites with confidence.

In this webinar, the current practice and the challenges of untargeted GC-MS metabolomics are discussed. Additionally, an innovative workflow using the Thermo Scientific™ Q Exactive™ GC-MS Orbitrap™ system to detect and identify metabolites related to colorectal cancer in an untargeted manner is presented. The workflow uses the advantages of high peak capacity and chromatographic resolution of gas chromatography with the high resolution and sub-ppm mass accuracy of the Orbitrap mass spectrometer in addition to an in-house developed high resolution Orbitrap metabolomics library for confident compound identification.

Results obtained from two populations linked to colorectal adenocarcinoma along with controls cohorts using automated data processing are discussed.

Brought to you by:

 

Key Learning Objectives:

 

• Learn about untargeted metabolomics using high resolution accurate mass GC-MS, its associated challenges and how advanced workflows allows for confident compound identification.

• Find out how the Q Exactive GC Orbitrap platform allows for confident metabolites detection and identification increasing the scope of the analysis and easing the ability to discriminate between various biological sample groups.

• Discover how automated data workflow allows for integrated peak deconvolution and library search with retention index to simplify data interpretation and adding confidence in compound identification.

Who Should Attend:

 

• Researchers interested in Metabolomics

• Core Laboratory Scientists

• New users in mass spectrometry and metabolomics

• Researchers performing large-scale, epidemiological and disease-related metabolomics studies

 

Speakers

 
Cristian Cojocariu, Ph.D.,
Applications Development Team Manager,
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Nicolas Di Giovanni, Ph.D.,
Student,
University of Liège
 

Moderator

 
Alane Lim,
Contributing Writer,
C&EN BrandLab
 

Register Now