CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Nontargeted Screening for Emerging Contaminants in Water and Wastewater Using Offline SPE and High Resolution Accurate Mass on the LTQ-Orbitrap Velos
Part 3 of 3
Thursday November 14th 2013
8:00 a.m. PST, 9:00 a.m. CST, 11:00 a.m. EST, 16:00 GMT
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Richard F. Jack
Environmental Market Manager
Thermo Fisher Scientific
 
Speaker
P. Lee Ferguson
Associate Professor
Duke University
Spacer
MODERATOR
Speaker
Jyllian Kemsley
Senior Editor
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

This webinar will discuss the development of offline solid phase extraction and novel analytical methods for trace analysis of organic microcontaminants in wastewaters. The laboratory uses the Autotrace 280 offline SPE to eliminate matrix interferences and concentrate a wide variety of contaminants. After sample preparation, high performance mass spectrometry techniques (e.g. UHPLC-Orbitrap MS/MS) are used to detect, identify, and quantify emerging contaminants (including endocrine disruptors, pharmaceuticals, and surfactants) in wastewater and drinking water. We will discuss how optimized sample preparation coupled to high-resolution accurate mass MS/MS facilitates detailed investigations of targeted and non-targeted contaminants at trace levels and will illustrate the application of this approach to gain an increased understanding of how emerging contaminants are transported and transformed within aquatic ecosystems.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES

- Learn the latest techniques for automated, offline SPE.

- How to remove matrix prior to high resolution MS

- How these techniques are applied to complex waste water matrices

WEBINARS IN THIS SERIES

July 18th, 11:00am EDT
Part 1: Analysis of Targeted and Non-Targeted Contaminants in Storm Water Retention Ponds

September 3rd, 11:00am EDT
Part 2: The Analysis of Fullerenes by Liquid Chromatography Mass Spectrometry

November 14, 11:00am EST
Part 3: Nontargeted Screening for Emerging Contaminants in Water and Wastewater Using Offline SPE and High Resolution Accurate Mass on the LTQ-Orbitrap Velos

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Researchers interested in learning about PPCP analysis
  •  
  • • Waste Water treatment personnel who want to keep abreast of released contaminants
  •  
  • • Regulatory officials who are considering potential regulatory action for these compounds
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo