The Promise of Mass Spectrometry-Based Metabolomics for Clinical Research and Stratified Medicine
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
The Promise of Mass Spectrometry-Based Metabolomics for Clinical Research and Stratified Medicine
Thursday December 10th 2015
USA 10:00am EST, 7:00am PST, 15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET
SPEAKER
Speaker
Dr. Warwick Dunn,
Lecturer in Metabolomics,
School of Biosciences and Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research (IMSR),
University of Birmingham
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Jeff Huber,
Associate Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Metabolites play many important roles in human ageing and human diseases including metabolism, precursors for biochemical synthesis and regulatory mechanisms. The complement of metabolites (defined as the metabolome) in a human biofluid or tissue is a sensitive and dynamic measure of the phenotype at the molecular level and rapid metabolic changes can be investigated as a response to the interaction of genotype and environment. Through the study of metabolites in humans we can (1) understand biochemical changes related to disease onset and progression; (2) identify targets for drug or lifestyle interventions; (3) predict risk of later disease development and (4) predict whether a subject will respond or not respond to a drug or lifestyle intervention...

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- To define why metabolomics is applied in clinical research

- To define why mass spectrometry is a powerful platform in metabolomics research

- To describe applications of mass spectrometry-based metabolomics in clinical research and how these benefit the human population

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Clinical researchers who are interested to see how mass spectrometry-based metabolomics can be applied in their research
  •  
  • • Analytical chemists who are interested to see how mass spectrometry is applied in metabolomics research
  •  
  • • Metabolomic researchers who are interested to see how metabolomics is applied in clinical research
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo