Zirconium-catalyzed Asymmetric Carboalumination
of Alkenes (ZACA Reaction)

Live Webinar: October 12, 2010
9:30 a.m. EDT • 8:30 a.m. CDT • 1:30 p.m. GMT (Europe)

Register Now

Overview: Many, most probably the majority, of the organic compounds of interest and importance to the mankind are "chiral" or optically active. Until recently, biosynthesis performed by nature was the major route to such "chiral" compounds, and biocatalysts, such as enzymes, were employed as synthetic tools. Slowly but surely, other methods without using enzymes and other biological tools have emerged, and their significance may be predicted to sharply rise in the 21st century, as forecasted by the 2001 Nobel Prize presented to three pioneers in the field, W. Knowles, R. Noyori, and K. B. Sharpless, who came up with non-biological asymmetric methods for C–H and C–O bond formation. What about the all-important C–C bond formation for asymmetric organic skeleton formation?

That is what the ZACA reaction does in a modern way, along with other reactions. Its discovery, development, and application to efficient and selective as well as potentially "green and economical" syntheses of biologically and medicinally important "chiral" organic compounds for the benefit of mankind will be presented.

Areas covered in the Webinar:

  • Discovery and development of the ZACA reaction
  • Its application to efficient and selective synthesis of chiral natural products
  • Synthesis of vitamins (E, K, etc.) and other compounds of dietary and medicinal interest


Sponsored byHosted by

Visit Aldrich ChemistryC&EN Webinars
Register Now