CoreTechnologies for Chiral & Specialty Intermediates for Pharma | C&EN Webinars | Chemical & Engineering News
CoreTechnologies for Chiral &
Specialty Intermediates for Pharma
Sponsored by: BASF Chemical Intermediates
Division

Live Webinar: September 9, 2010
10:00 a.m. EDT • 9:00 a.m. CDT • 7:00 a.m. PDT • 3:00 p.m. GMT Register Now
Overview: For active pharmaceutical ingredient development, pharmaceutical companies need a reliable supply of solvents, building blocks and reagents beginning in the early phases of development all the way to commercial production. The webinar will outline how technologies such as biocatalysis, asymmetric hydrogenation and even classical transformations – sometimes developed at much larger scale for fields outside pharmaceuticals – can deliver highpurity building blocks and reagents for pharmaceutical production.

Areas covered:
  • Lipase- and dehydrogenase-based biocatalytic technologies for large-scale production of chiral amines and alcohols
  • Combining lipase-based production of chiral amines with chirality transfer methods to produce difficult-to-access chiral amines
  • Advantages of combining technologies to enhance product quality; for example, combining homogeneous hydrogenation and biocatalysis to produce chiral alcohols in high chemical and optical purity
  • Use of core technologies such as amination and hydrogenation to extend existing product portfolios
  • Nitrous oxide oxidations of alkenes to ketones in microreactors as a means of producing pharmaceutical building blocks


Sponsored byHosted by

BASFC&EN Webinars
Register Now