Lipidomics: New Technologies and Applications
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Lipidomics: New Technologies and Applications
Thursday August 15th 2013
8:00 a.m. PDT, 10:00 a.m. CDT, 11:00 a.m. EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEDT
SPEAKERS
Speaker
Kim Ekroos PhD
Chief Technology Officer
Zora Biosciences
 
Speaker
Edward Dennis PhD
Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Phar- macology
University of California, San Diego
Spacer
MODERATOR
Speaker
Celia Arnaud
Senior Editor
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

Of the numerous Omics branches amenable to high-throughput analysis thanks to advances in mass spectrometry and other imaging technologies, one of the most exciting is the field of lipidomics. Over the past decade, researchers have made great strides in identifying the key components and interactions among thousands of cellular lipid moieties and tracing the relevance of this under-appreciated family of molecules to cellular signaling and disease.

In this special C&EN Web Symposium, two established experts in the lipidomics field – Kim Ekroos and Professor Edward Dennis — will discuss the development and impact of new technologies for measuring lipid profiles and networks, and share some of the latest research applications, including systems biology, biomarker and diagnostic development, and other applications.

SPEAKERS' BIOGRAPHIES

Kim Ekroos PhD is the Chief Technology Officer for Zora Biosciences in Finland. He is the editor of the book Lipidomics: Technologies and Applications (Wiley). Dr Ekroos trained with Professor Kai Simons and Dr Andrej Shevchenko at the Max-Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics in Dresden, as well as a spell in the pharmaceutical industry with AstraZeneca. He has made important contributions to the lipidomics field using advanced mass spectroscopy methods and software tools. His current research interests center on the association between tissue-specific lipid metabolism and the etiology of lipid-mediated disorders.

Edward Dennis PhD is Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Pharmacology at the University of California, San Diego. He is an authority on the phospholipase A2 enzyme family and the lipidomics of eicosanoid metabolites of arachidonic acid. Professor Dennis is also the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Lipid Research and the principal investigator and director of the LIPID MAPS Consortium, a ten year initiative funded by the National Institutes of Health to develop the field of lipidomics. They have developed the LIPID MAPS Classification system for lipids and the CLASS system for the liquid chromatographic/mass spectrometric based analysis of the macrophage lipidome and the human plasma lipidome.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • Mass Spec practitioners
  •  
  • • Researchers / R&D Managers
  •  
  • • Omics specialists
  •  
  • • Laboratory Managers / Directors / Supervisors
  •  
  • • Laboratory Technicians / Operators