Untitled Document
CEN Webinars: Stronger Bonds
Vaccines, Well Characterized? Light Scattering Solutions for Biophysical Characterization in Vaccine R&D
Wednesday December 3rd 2014
8:00am PST / 11:00am EST / 16:00 BST
SPEAKER
Speaker
Michelle Chen, Ph.D.
Director of Analytical Services
Wyatt Technology Corporation
Spacer
MODERATOR
Moderator
Celia Arnaud,
Senior Editor,
C&EN
Register Now
OVERVIEW

In this webinar we present a comprehensive suite of analytical techniques based on light scattering. These essential R&D tools are vital to the biophysical characterization of macromolecules such as proteins and polymers, as well as VLPs, viruses and other nanoparticles that constitute modern vaccines.

Case studies will show how multi-angle light scattering (MALS) and dynamic light scattering (DLS) instrumentation — whether in standalone mode or in combination with a separation system, such as SEC or FFF — solve key analytical challenges in vaccine development, formulation and quality control.

KEY LEARNING OBJECTIVES:

- Determination of molar mass, size and compositon for biopolymers and protein-polysaccharide conjugate vaccines, by SEC-MALS

- High-resolution characterization of size, conformation and composition of virus, VLP, liposome, and emulsion nanoparticles, by FFF-MALS

- High-throughput vaccine formulation and stability studies, by plate-based DLS

- Label-free, immobilization-free analysis of antigen-antibody and more complex biomolecular interactions, by CG-MALS

WHO SHOULD ATTEND
  • • R&D managers who encounter common challenges associated with biophysical characterization.
  •  
  • • Researchers interested in learning about new analytical techniques applicable to vaccine research and development.
  •  
  • • Project Supervisors needing more information about cutting-edge technology for biopolymer and nanoparticle characterization.
  •  
SPONSOR
Sponsor Logo