If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



ACS sets its fall election ballot

Two chemistry professors run for 2019 president-elect

by Linda wang
April 19, 2018


The American Chemical Society has announced the slate of candidates for this fall’s election. The winners will serve on the ACS Board of Directors from 2019 through 2021.

Photo of Luis A. Echegoyen.
Credit: Courtesy of Luis A. Echegoyen
Luis A. Echegoyen
Thomas Gilbert.
Credit: Courtesy of Thomas Gilbert
Thomas Gilbert.

The two candidates for 2019 president-elect are Luis A. Echegoyen, Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at El Paso; and Thomas R. Gilbert, professor of chemistry and chemical biology at Northeastern University, in Boston. The winner will serve a three-year term on the board as a member of the presidential succession.

The candidates for District I director are Katherine L. Lee, associate research fellow in Inflammation and Immunology Medicinal Chemistry at Pfizer in Cambridge, Mass.; and Laura E. Pence, professor of chemistry at the University of Hartford, in Connecticut.

The candidates for director of District V are John E. Adams, Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus at the University of Missouri, in Columbia; and Joseph A. Heppert, vice president for research at Texas Tech University, in Lubbock.

Four candidates are vying for two director-at-large openings: Frank D. Blum, Harrison I. Bartlett Chair and Regents’ Professor of Chemistry at Oklahoma State University, in Stillwater; Lee H. Latimer, a consultant in drug development at LHLatimer Consulting, in Oakland, Calif.; Ingrid Montes, assistant dean of graduate studies and research at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras; and Angela W. Peters, vice provost for academic programs and professor of chemistry at Claflin University, in Orangeburg, S.C.

Candidate statements will run in the Sept. 10 issue of C&EN. ACS members will have the option of voting for president-elect and other members of the Board of Directors via the internet, or they can opt in to receive a paper ballot, which will be distributed at the end of September. Results will be announced in late October.


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.