If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



National Medal Of Science

Chemistry professor Tobin Marks of Northwestern is among the eight laureates

by Susan R. Morrissey
May 31, 2007

Credit: Andrew Campbell
Credit: Andrew Campbell

President George W. Bush announced on May 29 the recipients of the 2005 National Medal of Science, who include Tobin J. Marks, a chemistry professor at Northwestern University. Marks, an ACS member, joins seven other scientists being recognized for lifetime achievement in scientific research.

Marks is the Vladimir N. Ipatieff Research Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and a professor of materials science and engineering at Northwestern. He is being honored for his research in homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, organo-f-element chemistry, new electronic and photonic materials, and diverse aspects of coordination and solid-state chemistry.

The Medal of Science awards pay tribute to "individuals for pioneering scientific research in a range of fields, including physical, biological, mathematical, social, behavioral, and engineering sciences," notes NSF, which administers the awards.

The other 2005 laureates are Jan D. Achenbach of the civil and environmental engineering department at Northwestern; Ralph A. Alpher, a trustee emeritus at the Dudley Observatory; Gordon H. Bower of the psychology department at Stanford University; Bradley Efron of the statistics department at Stanford; Anthony S. Fauci, the director of NIH's National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases; Lonnie G. Thompson of the School of Earth Sciences at Ohio State University; and Torsten N. Wiesel, president emeritus at Rockefeller University. All eight laureates will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later this year.


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.