German Award Goes To Frank Neese | January 12, 2009 Issue - Vol. 87 Issue 2 | Chemical & Engineering News
Volume 87 Issue 2 | p. 49 | Awards
Issue Date: January 12, 2009

German Award Goes To Frank Neese

Recipients are honored for contributions of major significance to chemistry
Department: ACS News

Frank Neese, chair of theoretical chemistry at the University of Bonn, in Germany, and a fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry, received the 2008 Klung Wilhelmy Weberbank Prize for chemistry during a ceremony in Berlin in November 2008.

The prize is awarded annually to a top young German scientist, toggling each year between honoring a physicist or a chemist. Five of the previous awardees have since received the Nobel Prize.

The prize includes 100,000 euros and is sponsored by the Otto Klung Foundation at the Free University of Berlin, the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation, and the Society for the Promotion of Science of the Weberbank Actiengesellschaft.


Linda Wang compiles this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © American Chemical Society

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment