If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



CAS names its 2019 Future Leaders

by Linda Wang
June 21, 2019 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 97, Issue 25


Twenty-nine early-career scientists from 16 countries are heading to CAS headquarters in Columbus, Ohio, on Aug. 19–24 as part of the 2019 class of CAS Future Leaders.

The program, organized by CAS, which is a division of the American Chemical Society, aims to expand the professional networks of up-and-coming PhD students and postdoctoral researchers from around the world who are shaping the future of scientific information and innovation.

Awardees will collaborate on new initiatives to support the scientific community, exchange ideas about the role of information within the research process, and hear from industry and academic leaders about the role of science in the global economy, academia, and the media. Participants will also attend the ACS national meeting in San Diego in August.

The 2019 CAS Future Leaders are Olga Bakulina, Saint Petersburg State University; Kerry Betz, Stanford University; Aisha Naziran Bismillah, Durham University; Nathan Boase, Queensland University of Technology; Lucas Busta, University of Nebraska; Cassandra Callmann, Northwestern University; Subhash Chander, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Mohali; Connor W. Coley, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Yuanxin Deng, East China University of Science and Technology; Andreas Ehnbom, Texas A&M University; Ehsan Fereyduni, University of Florida; Mahlet Garedew, Yale University; Farnaz Heidar Zadeh, Ghent University; Jazmín Ciciolil Hilario-Martínez, Meritorious Autonomous University of Puebla; Gregory K. Hodgson, Ryerson University; Arianne C. Hunter, University of Oklahoma; Marc-André Légaré, Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg; Dickson Mambwe, University of Cape Town; Jovana V. Milić, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL); Sean N. Natoli, University of California, Berkeley; Meagan Oakley, University of Alberta; Yoonsu Park, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology; Vanessa Sanchez, Harvard University; Jesus Sanjosé-Orduna, Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia; Koichi Sasaki, Kyushu University; Tracy Schloemer, Colorado School of Mines; Dannie van Osch, Eindhoven University of Technology; Paulette Vincent-Ruz, University of Pittsburgh; and Liang Zhang, University of Manchester.



This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.