Recipients of NIH Director's Pioneer Award Named | Chemical & Engineering News
Volume 82 Issue 40 | p. 20 | Concentrates
Issue Date: October 4, 2004

Recipients of NIH Director's Pioneer Award Named

Department: Government & Policy

The first nine recipients of the NIH Director's Pioneer Award were announced last week. The award, part of the NIH Roadmap for Biomedical Research, provides $500,000 a year for five years to each recipient and is designed to encourage talented individuals to pursue high-risk, potentially high-impact medical research (C&EN, March 15, page 33). The awardees are Laurence F. Abbott, professor of biology at Brandeis University; George Daley, associate professor of biological chemistry and molecular pharmacology at Harvard Medical School; Homme Hellinga, professor of biochemistry at Duke University Medical Center; Joseph McCune, senior investigator at the Gladstone Institute of Virology & Immunology; Steven McKnight, Sam G. Winstead & F. Andrew Bell Distinguished Chair in Biochemistry at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Chad A. Mirkin, George B. Rathman Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University; Rob Phillips, professor of engineering and applied physics at California Institute of Technology; Stephen R. Quake, professor of bioengineering at Stanford University; and Sunney Xie, professor of chemistry at Harvard University.

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © American Chemical Society

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment