Volume 87 Issue 43 | p. 34 | Awards
Issue Date: October 26, 2009

ORGN Honors Technical Achievement, Calls for Nominations

Department: ACS News

The ACS Organic Chemistry Division (ORGN) has selected the winners of the 2009 Technical Achievement Awards in Organic Chemistry, which recognize outstanding contributions in organic chemistry by junior-level chemists (those who do not have a Ph.D. degree or equivalent) pursuing careers in the chemical industry or at research institutes.

The winners are Kae M. Bullock, GlaxoSmithKline; Thomas A. Chappie, Pfizer Global Research & Development; Pete Delgado, Alcon Laboratories; Keith A. Eagen, Schering-Plough Research Institute; Cornelia J. Forster, Novartis Institute for Biomedical Research; Daniel M. Green, Wyeth Research; David W. Hoard, Eli Lilly & Co.; Shaei Y. Huang, Merck & Co.; Jeffrey C. Kern, Wyeth Research; Maria Angelica Linton, Pfizer Global R&D; William D. Miller, Eli Lilly & Co.; Michael J. Palmer, Pfizer Global R&D; Nelo R. Rivera, Merck & Co; and Charles P. Vandenbossche, Sepracor.

Nominations are open for the 2010 Technical Achievement Awards in Organic Chemistry. Submissions must include a letter describing the nominee’s contributions and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae. Additional letters and supporting documents are welcome but not essential. Nominees should hold at least a bachelor’s degree or equivalent and be working in chemistry. They should not have received a previous Technical Achievement Award in Organic Chemistry.

Nominations must be received by Jan. 15, 2010, and should be e-mailed as one PDF document to Christopher J. Welch, 2010 TAOC Chair, at christopher_welch@merck.com. For more information, visit 


Linda R. Raber and Linda Wang compiled this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to Linda Wang at l_wang@acs.org.

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © American Chemical Society

Leave A Comment

*Required to comment