If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



Author Of The Year Awards To Dale Boger And Dennis Hall

by Linda Wang
July 1, 2013 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 91, Issue 26

Credit: David Friedman
Photo of Dale Boger.
Credit: David Friedman

Organic Letters and the Journal of Organic Chemistry have selected the winners of their Outstanding Author of the Year Lectureship Awards.

Credit: Richard Siemans
Photo of Dennis Hall.
Credit: Richard Siemans

Dale L. Boger, Richard & Alice Cramer Professor of Chemistry and chair of the chemistry department at Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Calif., is the recipient of the inaugural Organic Letters Outstanding Author of the Year Lectureship Award. Boger was cited for his development of a new method for the direct hydrofunctionalization of alkenes (Org. Lett. 2012, DOI: 10.1021/ol300173v). The award, given by Organic Letters and the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry (ORGN), will be presented to Boger during the fall 2013 ACS national meeting in Indianapolis.

Dennis G. Hall, a professor of chemistry at the University of Alberta, is the winner of the inaugural Journal of Organic Chemistry Outstanding Author of the Year Lectureship Award. Hall was cited for his work on the direct synthesis of amides by condensation of amines and carboxylic acids (J. Org. Chem. 2012, DOI: 10.1021/jo3013258). The award, given by the Journal of Organic Chemistry and ORGN, will be presented to Hall during the ACS national meeting in Indianapolis.

Linda Wang compiles this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.