If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



COMP Announces 2013 Awards

by Linda Wang
July 22, 2013 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 91, Issue 29

The ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry (COMP) presented several awards during the spring 2013 ACS national meeting in New Orleans.

The OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award in Computational Chemistry assists new faculty members in gaining visibility within the COMP community. The winners are Jim Pfaendtner, University of Washington, Seattle; Adam Wasserman, Purdue University; and Steven Wheeler, Texas A&M University. Each winner received a $1,000 prize.

The Chemical Computing Group Graduate Student Excellence Award, cosponsored by CCG, recognizes outstanding research performance by a graduate student in computational chemistry. The recipients are Kyle E. Hart, Pennsylvania State University; Marie L. Laury, University of North Texas; Yanxin Liu, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Iffat H. Nayyar, University of Central Florida; and Raghunath O. Ramabhadran of Indiana University, Bloomington. The winners received $1,150 and a copy of CCG’s MOE (Molecular Operating Environment) software with a one-year license.

The ACS Peter Kollman Graduate Award in Supercomputing recognizes outstanding students in the early stages of their graduate careers, particularly for chemistry-related projects that need high-performance computing resources. The recipient is Jason Swails of the University of Florida. He will receive computing time on the “Kraken” Cray XT5 supercomputer at the National Institute for Computational Sciences.

Linda Wang compiles this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.