If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



2017 ACS Fellows

June 19, 2017 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 95, Issue 25

The American Chemical Society has named 65 members as ACS Fellows. The new fellows will be feted at the society’s fall national meeting in Washington, D.C., in August.

The fellows program began in 2009 as a way to recognize and honor ACS members for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession, and ACS.

Nominations for the 2018 class of ACS Fellows will open in the first quarter of next year. Additional information about the program, including a list of fellows named in earlier years, is available at

Roxie V. Allen
St. John’s School

Balu Balasubramanian
Pharma Innovation Sourcing Center

Lisa M. Balbes
Balbes Consultants

Grace Baysinger
Stanford Libraries

James M. Boncella
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Timothy J. Bunning
Materials & Manufacturing Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory

Marjorie C. Caserio
University of California, San Diego (emeritus)

Hong-Yuan Chen
Nanjing University

Aurora E. Clark
Washington State University

D. Richard Cobb
Eastman Kodak Company (retired)

Peter W. R. Corfield
Fordham University

Rick L. Danheiser
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Donald J. Darensbourg
Texas A&M University

Stephen O. Duke
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

Tammy J. Dwyer
University of San Diego

Larry R. Faulkner
University of Texas, Austin

John J. Fortman
Wright State University (emeritus)

Elise Bickford Fox
Savannah River National Laboratory

Joelle Frechette
Johns Hopkins University

Dana Garcia

Scott R. Gilbertson
University of Houston

Regis Ann Goode
Ridge View High School

Sergio Granados-Focil
Clark University

Etta C. Gravely
North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University

Arthur Greenberg
University of New Hampshire

John T. Gupton
University of Richmond

Gerald B. (GB) Hammond
University of Louisville

Robert H. Hill Jr.
Battelle Memorial Institute (emeritus)

Lynn Hogue
Miami University (retired)

Wyn Jennings
National Science Foundation

Julie L. P. Jessop
University of Iowa

Mark E. Jones
Dow Chemical

Ralf I. Kaiser
University of Hawaii, Manoa

Barbara S. Larsen

Katherine L. Lee

Irvin J. Levy
Gordon College

Dennis L. Lichtenberger
University of Arizona

Lucian Lucia
North Carolina State University and Qilu University of Technology

Yinfa Ma
Missouri University of Science & Technology

Harold M. McNair
Virginia Polytechnic Institute (emeritus)

Chad A. Mirkin
Northwestern University

Alyson E. Mitchell
University of California, Davis

Sarah Mullins

Nicholas R. Natale
University of Montana

Dennis G. Peters
Indiana University, Bloomington

Viacheslav Petrov

Todd M. Przybycien
Carnegie Mellon University

James Reynolds
Eastman Kodak

Al Ribes
Dow Chemical

JaimeLee Iolani Rizzo
Pace University

Kenneth S. Sajwan
Savannah State University

Nicole S. Sampson
Stony Brook University

Stewart W. Schneller
Auburn University

Gary B. Schuster
Georgia Institute of Technology

Edwin Sibert
University of Wisconsin, Madison

William A. Szabo
Consultant in drug development (retired)

Dean J. Tantillo
University of California, Davis

Lorena Tribe
Pennsylvania State University, Berks

Pratibha Varma-Nelson
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Bhaskar R. Venepalli

James H. Wang
Sinopec Shanghai Research Institute of Petrochemical Technology

Ean Warren
U.S. Geological Survey

Martha J. M. Wells
EnviroChem Services

Marek A. Wójtowicz
Advanced Fuel Research

Ziling Xue
University of Tennessee, Knoxville



This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.