If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



CHAS presents awards

by Linda Wang
September 18, 2017 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 95, Issue 37

The ACS Division of Chemical Health & Safety (CHAS) presented several awards during the ACS fall national meeting in Washington, D.C. The division awards recognize outstanding leadership and service in the field of chemical health and safety.

Stanford University’s Department of Chemistry and Department of Environmental Health & Safety received the 2017 CHAS SafetyStratus College & University Health & Safety Award for an outstanding undergraduate chemical safety program.

Monona Rossol, president of Arts, Crafts & Theater Safety in New York City, received the 2017 CHAS Howard Fawcett Chemical Health & Safety Award for outstanding contributions to chemical health and safety.

Robert H. Hill Jr., retiree from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, is the winner of the 2017 CHAS Tillmanns-Skolnick Award for his outstanding long-term service to the division. Hill is a past chair of the committee.

The division awarded its CHAS Fellows designation to Lawrence M. Gibbs of Stanford University; Dennis C. Hendershot of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers; Hill; Kimberly B. Jeskie of Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Ken Kretchman of North Carolina State University; Peter Reinhardt of Yale University; Rossol; and Ellen Sweet of Cornell University.

Please send announcements of awards to


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.