If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.



ACS members elected to the National Academy of Sciences

by Linda Wang
May 20, 2020 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 98, Issue 20


The National Academy of Sciences (NAS), which is more than 150 years old, elected 120 new members and 26 foreign associates from 14 countries in May. These elections bring the total active membership to 2,403 and the number of foreign associates—nonvoting members with citizenship outside the US—to 501.

Election to NAS recognizes scientists and engineers for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research and is considered one of the highest scientific honors bestowed in the US. This year, 23 of the newly elected are members of the American Chemical Society or work in areas related to the chemical sciences.

The new US members are Dafna Bar-Sagi, New York University School of Medicine; Joel D. Blum, University of Michigan; John F. Brady, California Institute of Technology; Erick M. Carreira, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich; Yifan Cheng, University of California, San Francisco; Giulia Galli, University of Chicago; Gregg A. Howe, Michigan State University; James H. Hurley, University of California, Berkeley; Christopher Jarzynski, University of Maryland; Chaitan Khosla, Stanford University; Clifford P. Kubiak, University of California, San Diego; Scott J. Miller, Yale University; Kimberly A. Prather, University of California, San Diego, and Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Michael K. Rosen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Janet L. Smith, University of Michigan; Samuel I. Stupp, Northwestern University; F. Dean Toste, University of California, Berkeley; Robert Tycko, National Institutes of Health; Veronica Vaida, University of Colorado Boulder; Suzanne Walker, Harvard Medical School; and Karen L. Wooley, Texas A&M University.

The two new foreign associate members are Patrick Cramer, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, and Lewis E. Kay, University of Toronto.

Please send announcements of awards to



This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.