If you have an ACS member number, please enter it here so we can link this account to your membership. (optional)

ACS values your privacy. By submitting your information, you are gaining access to C&EN and subscribing to our weekly newsletter. We use the information you provide to make your reading experience better, and we will never sell your data to third party members.


Biological Chemistry

Benjamin Tu Wins Hackerman Award

by Linda Wang
April 14, 2014 | A version of this story appeared in Volume 92, Issue 15

Credit: UT Southwestern Medical Center
Benjamin Tu
Credit: UT Southwestern Medical Center

Benjamin P. Tu, an associate professor of biochemistry and W. W. Caruth Jr. Scholar in Biomedical Research at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, is the recipient of the Welch Foundation’s 2014 Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research. The $100,000 award, named in honor of academic scientist Norman Hackerman, is presented annually to recognize a young scientist conducting basic chemistry research in Texas.

Tu’s research suggests that metabolites may be the drivers of key cellular processes rather than mere bystanders, as conventional wisdom had held. In research that may lead to new treatments for human disease, Tu identified a unique nutritional pathway in mammalian cells that is unnecessary for healthy cells but crucial to support the uncontrolled growth of cancer cells. He then discovered a way to block that pathway.

“Dr. Tu’s work is advancing our understanding of what could be a very critical connection between metabolism and the fundamental cellular processes of cell growth, division, and autophagy, the ‘housecleaning’ process through which cells destroy damaged proteins and organelles,” according to Daniel K. Podolsky, president of UT Southwestern.

Tu earned a Ph.D. in biochemistry and biophysics from the University of California, San Francisco, and completed a postdoc at UT Southwestern. His other awards include the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award in the Biomedical Sciences, a Sara & Frank McKnight Foundation Fellowship, a AAAS/Science/GE Healthcare Young Scientist Regional Award, and a Packard Fellowship for Science & Engineering.

Linda Wang compiles this section. Announcements of awards may be sent to


This article has been sent to the following recipient:

Chemistry matters. Join us to get the news you need.