January 4, 2016 Issue | Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2016 American Chemical Society

January 4, 2016 Issue

Volume 94, Issue 1
January 4, 2016 Issue, Vol. 94 | Iss. 1
Reaching out to other chemists and to the public will strengthen our profession
By Donna J. Nelson
(pp. 2-4)
The $130 billion merger is too big to ignore (pp. 14-15)
Science & Technology
Pacifichem News: A taste of the happenings and the research presented during last month’s meeting in Hawaii (pp. 25-27)
Back Issues

News of the Week

Congress Moves On Chemical Safety Reform

Legislation: Negotiations expected to culminate early in 2016

DuPont Shutting Central Research

Corporate R&D: Firm’s restructuring of storied labs comes before its merger with Dow

ACS Considers Adding Safety Criteria To Fellows Nominations

Lab Safety: Move comes after AAAS elects Patrick Harran as one of its fellows

Chemists Win Presidential Science Awards

Accolades: Obama picks honorees for National Medals of Science and Technology & Innovation

Well-Known Malaria Drug Artemisinin Works By Attacking Multiple Parasite Proteins

Biochemistry: New research shows that the antimalarial also needs the red blood cell compound heme for activation


ACS News

Reaching out to other chemists and to the public will strengthen our profession
(pp. 2-4)
Awards(pp. 29-43)
  1. 2016 ACS National Award Winners
  2. ACS Award In Colloid & Surface Chemistry: Nicholas L. Abbott
  3. Nobel Laureate Signature Award For Graduate Education In Chemistry: Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt and Matthew J. Polinski
  4. Kathryn C. Hach Award For Entrepreneurial Success: Scott D. Allen, Geoffrey W. Coates, and Anthony R. Eisenhut
  5. James T. Grady-James H. Stack Award For Interpreting Chemistry For The Public: Peter Atkins
  6. Elias J. Corey Award For Outstanding Original Contribution In Organic Synthesis By A Young Investigator: Phil Baran
  7. Ipatieff Prize: Aditya Bhan
  8. Gabor A. Somorjai Award For Creative Research In Catalysis: Donna G. Blackmond
  9. Ernest Guenther Award In The Chemistry Of Natural Products: Eric Block
  10. George A. Olah Award In Hydrocarbon Or Petroleum Chemistry: Mieczyslaw M. (Mietek) Boduszynski
  11. ACS Award In The Chemistry Of Materials: Jean-Luc E. Bredas
  12. Frederic Stanley Kipping Award In Silicon Chemistry: Michael Brook
  13. ACS Award For Team Innovation: Matthew F. Brown, Paul S. Changelian, Mark E. Flanagan, Michael J. Munchhof, and Chakrapani Subramanyam
  14. Earle B. Barnes Award For Leadership In Chemical Research Management: Henry Bryndza
  15. ACS Award In Theoretical Chemistry: Roberto Car
  16. ACS Award In Polymer Chemistry: Edmund M. (Ted) Carnahan
  17. Award For Volunteer Service To The American Chemical Society: H. N. Cheng
  18. ACS Award For Encouraging Disadvantaged Students Into Careers In The Chemical Sciences: Luis A. Colón
  19. ACS Award In Separations Science & Technology: Steven M. Cramer
  20. Alfred Burger Award In Medicinal Chemistry: Richard D. DiMarchi
  21. ACS Award For Creative Invention: Antonio Facchetti
  22. ACS Award For Encouraging Women Into Careers In The Chemical Sciences: Carol A. Fierke
  23. Herbert C. Brown Award For Creative Research In Synthetic Methods: Alois Fürstner
  24. F. Albert Cotton Award In Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry: François P. Gabbaï
  25. ACS Award In Industrial Chemistry: Ted C. Germroth
  26. ACS Award In Organometallic Chemistry: Karen Goldberg
  27. ACS Award For Research At An Undergraduate Institution: Thomas E. Goodwin
  28. E. Bright Wilson Award In Spectroscopy: Robert G. Griffin
  29. Frank H. Field And Joe L. Franklin Award For Outstanding Achievement In Mass Spectrometry: Albert John Roeland Heck
  30. ACS Award For Computers In Chemical & Pharmaceutical Research: Warren Hehre
  31. ACS Award In Analytical Chemistry: William Heineman
  32. ACS Award For Achievement In Research For The Teaching And Learning Of Chemistry: Avi Hofstein
  33. Glenn T. Seaborg Award For Nuclear Chemistry: E. Philip Horwitz
  34. ACS Award For Affordable Green Chemistry: Martin Johnson, Joseph Martinelli, and Shannon Stahl
  35. ACS Award In Inorganic Chemistry: Mercouri Kanatzidis
  36. Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal: Annie Kersting
  37. Josef Michl ACS Award In Photochemistry: Frederick Lewis
  38. ACS Award For Creative Advances In Environmental Science & Technology: Bruce E. Logan
  39. ACS Award In Chromatography: Harold M. McNair
  40. ACS Award For Creative Work In Synthetic Organic Chemistry: Scott J. Miller
  41. National Fresenius Award: Douglas A. Mitchell
  42. George C. Pimentel Award In Chemical Education: Richard Moog
  43. Ronald Breslow Award For Achievement In Biomimetic Chemistry: Thomas W. Muir
  44. ACS Award In Pure Chemistry: Jonathan S. Owen
  45. ACS Award For Distinguished Service In The Advancement Of Inorganic Chemistry: Vincent L. Pecoraro
  46. Ralph F. Hirschmann Award In Peptide Chemistry: Ronald T. Raines
  47. Peter Debye Award In Physical Chemistry: Mark A. Ratner
  48. ACS Award In Applied Polymer Science: Thomas P. Russell
  49. James Flack Norris Award In Physical Organic Chemistry: J. C. (Tito) Scaiano
  50. Irving Langmuir Award In Chemical Physics: George C. Schatz
  51. Harry Gray Award For Creative Work In Inorganic Chemistry By A Young Investigator: Eric J. Schelter
  52. Joel Henry Hildebrand Award In The Theoretical And Experimental Chemistry Of Liquids: Kenneth S. Schweizer
  53. George & Christine Sosnovsky Award For Cancer Research: Juswinder Singh
  54. Alfred Bader Award In Bioinorganic Or Bioorganic Chemistry: Edward I. Solomon
  55. ACS Award For Creative Work In Fluorine Chemistry: Steven H. Strauss
  56. E. V. Murphree Award In Industrial & Engineering Chemistry: Michael Thackeray
  57. Ahmed Zewail Award In Ultrafast Science & Technology: Andrei Tokmakoff
  58. James Bryant Conant Award In High School Chemistry Teaching: Julia Winter

Science & Technology

Pacifichem News: A taste of the happenings and the research presented during last month’s meeting in Hawaii
(pp. 25-27)
Carbohydrate chemists agree on system to represent oligosaccharide structures
Shanghai conference highlights the benefits of the chemical separations technology for the growing Asian marketplace
(pp. 23-24)
Bioquímica: Una nueva investigación muestra que el fármaco antimalárico necesita el grupo hemo, que se encuentra en los glóbulos rojos, para su activación

Career & Employment